Butterfly festival

monarch butterflyHave you ever been to a butterfly festival? Well I have. When we got there we saw face painting, crafts, and much more. We all went down to their campfire. They didn’t have a fire going but when we got there they were about to tag and release some monarch butterflies. The first monarch had a broken wing but a kid tagged it and then the instructor called me up to the front and told me to hold my finger out. So i did. She put the butterfly on my finger and then it flew off. But it didn’t get far. When it flew it started heading downward. Eventually it flew into the grass. They left it there. Later it flew off. Then the instructor said,”Do you know why Monarchs are tagged and released?” Nobody raised their hand. ” They are tagged and released so we know how many Monarchs make it to Mexico. At Mexico they lay eggs and die.” We all thought that was cool(but I already knew that).Then we went inside and I got my face painted. It was an amazing experience.

Leave a Reply

